Posted on 07 March 2012 by smokeandtoke6123
Different states across the nation have various laws regarding drug crimes. Marijuana, in particular, is one of the most controversial, illegal substances in the United States. Some states have legalized it for medicinal functions, even though the majority has not. Some states base the severity of punishment on the sum of marijuana discovered on the offender whilst others base the punishment on the age of the offender.
The state of Nevada has legalized marijuana for medical use, has decriminalized the substance, and penalizes violators based mostly on their ages and not on how significantly cannabis they have on individual when caught.
Possession of Marijuana
An offender will be charged with possession of marijuana if he or she caught by a law enforcement officer with this illegal substance, and with no medical proof that it was prescribed to deal with a physical ailment.
Due to the fact Nevada punishes criminals primarily based on their age, all offenders beneath 21 years old will be charged with a Class E felony, no matter how a lot marijuana they possessed when caught. They will encounter penalties of 1-four years in jail and a $ 5,000 fine.
Offenders over age 21 will be charged with a misdemeanor for their very first and 2nd offenses. They encounter submission to a treatment method plan and fines of up to $ one,000. Third time offenders will be charged with gross misdemeanor, and they encounter one year of jail time and a fine of up to $ two,000. Finally, fourth time offenders will be charged with a Class E felony, which is punishable by 1-four many years in jail and a fine of up to $ five,000.
Sale and Cultivation of Marijuana
The sale and cultivation of marijuana is punished based on the number of convictions the offender has previously had and on the amount of the substance for sale. All sale and cultivation offenses are charged as felonies, but their penalties fluctuate dependent on every scenario.
The sale of significantly less than one hundred pounds of marijuana will outcome in up to 15 years of jail time, depending on the quantity of prior offenses, and a fine of $ 20,000. The sale of a hundred-two,000 pounds will be punished by five years in prison and a fine of $ 25,000. Finally, the sale of more than 2,000 pounds will be penalized by up to 20 many years in prison and a fine of $ 50,000.
The sale of marijuana to a minor is considered to be a very critical offense in Nevada. First time offenders will face up to 20 years of jail time, and second time offenders will be charged with a daily life sentence.
Make contact with Us
If you have been charged with a marijuana crime, then you will require a skilled criminal defense lawyer on your side. The Las Vegas criminal defense lawyers of Palmer & Associates, P.C.
have the encounter needed to protect you. To understand far more, please go to http://www.lasvegas-criminallawyer.com/ nowadays.
A slide present tributing some of the best recognized weeds from across the globe. Take pleasure in!
Video Rating: 4 / five